Little things

My last post was pretty deep, so I felt it was time to just take a bit of a break –  stop and look at little things around me.  There is such intricate detail in the world.  Most of these things I walk right by on an ordinary day.  These are not accidents of nature.  These are marvels of engineering and artistic design.

If there is so much attention to detail in these mere mites of the earth, what is within ourselves?

John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, preached an amazing sermon, entitled “What is Man?” (Sermon 109) where he explored the motions of breathing and circulation, among others, in order for life to occur.  He concluded  by praising God for the wonders of the mechanism and the fire he found within himself.  I highly recommend taking the time to read it.

It is fascinating, looking at the smallest creatures around me and their intricate features, that the same attention to detail in their creation were also applied to me.  But they are not made in the image of God.  I am!

What incredible attributes can I find in those around me?    Today, I’m looking for the “fearfully and wonderfully made” in my world.


Leave a Reply

