“As ye sow, so shall ye reap”

I really enjoyed driving next to this car this morning.  It purred like a kitten.  The back window was down, as were all the rest, and the older couple at the helm were happily chatting as they cruised.  I had a little trouble catching up.   It was when I did come alongside, though, that I saw the period cooler in the back end, no doubt packed with a picnic for later in the day.

So now for my thoughts:  it takes a lot of money to buy a new car every year or so, and it is not the most effective method of fiscal management.   I don’t have the skill necessary to restore the cars I like that are in my price range to what I would/could drive.   Maintenance.  Take care of it today and it will take care of you tomorrow.  Little spots become big rust if  habits are not in place to prevent them.

Routines are the most important thing I can implement to make my life easier.  With the habit of good food choices, my body lasts longer and I feel better.  With proper work habits, my career will go further and my home will be more livable.  Habitual grace will keep friendships intact.

And never, never give up a good habit once it’s instilled – it is an indentured servant that will serve you consistently without you ever having to think about it.

Life will get out of hand at times, though.  And when it does, restorations are still possible and good, even if they take a while to implement.  Steady, positive progress is the way to accomplishing anything good.

(Day 21/365 – Three weeks!  I’ve officially established a new habit of daily blogging!)

One thought on ““As ye sow, so shall ye reap”

  1. Pingback: We Do Reap What We Sow… « Ed Robinson's Blog

Leave a Reply

