Roundup Day

One of the coolest things about living on the Chisholm Trail is the history.  It’s a part of life. They still have a roundup every year, where horsemen ride several hundred miles over the original route.   Today was the parade, and everybody in the whole county and beyond came out for the shindig.

I got out early to take my son to the fire department staging area. I would’ve been satisfied right there, since I found my photo of the day on the way back.  Lovely.

But the day had only just begun.  We still have a parade to go to –

Downtown Lockhart is lovely – many homes have been here since before the Civil War.

Here it comes!  The parade begins…

Lockhart’s history and residents dominate the culture.  I have a clearer photo of these ladies, but it didn’t capture them as well as this did. They were wonderful.  Their sign was pretty good, too!

 

But the younger set is very visible, too – they’re just a little different from the previous generations. They (maybe much like me) seem not entirely comfortable with the reality of rural life. Contrast is all around.

Some things I’m not sure I’ve ever seen in a parade before. The grain mill is a very dominant feature of the local landscape; they needed to show off their new rig.

And this interesting contraption was recently invented by some local boys for brush clearing. This is the biggest one I’ve ever seen.

The county’s fire trucks are arriving. Good Lord, they go as far as I can see!

Here’s the one I’ve been waiting for.

No parade would be complete without horses. And they are still my favorite part. I’m always astounded at what amazing horses the local Mexicans trot out.

Shriners, too.

This is very definitely small town America, and I’m always surprised and thrilled to see the high school reunions. The class of ’41 had about a dozen members on its float. The motto on ’91 caught my eye:

I may have lived here too long. Two people from the parade called me out by name, and another two waved down my family. Hmmm. Not sure if that means I’m home, or I’ve overstayed. Either way, we had a nice day and got to see the town in all its glory.

(Day 28/365)

One thought on “Roundup Day

Leave a Reply

