The Quiet Rake

These contraptions are fascinating – dangerous as all hell, and I don’t like passing them on our narrow road. But the intricacy of metalwork and workings have a beauty all their own. Like most farm implements.

I love raking. In my mind, raking is a fall sport; piling all the golden brown leaves into a pile for the children to jump into and toss around. If there’s much more than mulch left over, I’ll happily rake that back up and add it to my compost. Here, though, it’s no game – it’s what you do all summer in order to keep the livestock alive all winter. The hay season is just beginning. And my son’s pocket is awaiting the bulges that will only be matched by his arms when he’s done.

I just pray for rain, because this baby was sitting idle today when it should have been out earning its keep. My inbox is full of pleas for help from the horse rescue society due to drought and economic factors. This saddens me. I’ve dealt with a lot of death in my own animals in the last few years, but the drought has continued and horses are special. And there’s nothing I can do. I have two acres of dirt that won’t support my chickens.

There comes a point in life when you realize that you cannot control your world. Drought, economic downturns, and tornadoes happen, and there’s not a damn thing I can do about any of it but ride them out as best I can. Civilized, suburban society requires that I smile – because in suburbia, lawns are always green and cars are always garaged. I live with one foot in both worlds, and it’s hard to see the hardship around me and smile like nothing’s wrong.

But I do.

Because I know that, regardless of the fresh graves in my yard and the very small babies I see in my neighbors’ herds, God is still in control. He is waiting patiently for us to call out to Him and lean on Him for our very lives. Because, like me, most people will never hear His voice until that’s exactly what’s on the line. And then we will realize that this, too, “came to pass” – in His good time, for His purposes.

(Day 32/365)

Leave a Reply

