Fresh Cookies

The dynamics around the house have changed dramatically with the onset of summer.   The oldest is gone to California and the next oldest is at work all day.  We used to have fresh chocolate chip cookies nearly daily, and chores were picked up when nobody was watching.  Jobs that used to be the sole property of big kids are now the responsibility of someone who just realized he’s big enough.  Pips had to adapt to a significant lack of big brothers to make something fun happen, and is beginning to come up with her own ideas and enlisting help to accomplish them.

Today she decided we really needed cookies. Michael was game to head up the project and off they went. They were so happy in there! Chit-chatting and baking away, my up-and-coming chef and his “sous chef” had everything ably in hand. I never realized when I happily puttered in the kitchen with a baby in a sling and a toddler at my side how much I was teaching them. Every one of my children is quite capable in the kitchen, and they only get more so every day.

So while I discussed proper pastry technique with my daughter in anticipation of a Father’s Day pie, these two were shaping and pressing balls of peanut butter cookie dough and baking them. Now I’m not a huge fan of peanut butter, but there is something very comforting about the smell of freshly baking cookies in the house, no matter what the flavor.

(Day 33/365)

One thought on “Fresh Cookies

  1. lovely! One of my favorite things to do with my grandchildren is baking. I knew it was a good thing when one of them said, with just one foot out of the car as his family arrived for a visit (after an eight-hour drive), “What are we baking this time, Gramma?”

    Really hope to meet your boys someday and to see your girls again. They seem to have such nice relationships with each other! You’re doing something right!!! Enjoy every minute.
    peg

Leave a Reply

